Android is the most successful operating system for mobile devices worldwide

Android is an operating system developed by Google for devices such as smartphones and tablets, and is constantly evolving. It works with a touch function and is nowadays the most widely used operating systems worldwide for these mobile devices. Although it is mainly used on smartphones, there are also stationary applications.

Android is currently the global market leader and its success is unrivalled. For example, in Germany more than 80 percent of newly purchased mobile devices have an Android system pre-installed. The iPhone iOS system only has a comparable market share in the USA. All other systems such as Windows Phone or BlackBerry are far behind.

Manufacturers have free access to the Android source code

One of the reasons for the growing success of Android’s operating system is that everyone is able to freely use the Android source code. The manufacturers of smartphones and tablets do not need to pay any licensing fees to Google, and can perfectly adapt Android to the hardware of its devices. Phones from Samsung, Sony, HTC, Motorola, LG and other manufacturers run on the Android operating system for the most part. This has led to a large model and price range, in which you can find Android smartphones different price categories and sizes. This freedom of use of the source code is the most important difference when comparing Android to Apple’s iOS.

Android has a wide variety of apps: it ranges from simple rating games to health apps, calendars and trip planners. Many of these apps are optimised for smartphones, some run perfectly on tablets. Some apps are free, others are available for a small charge.

You can find more information on Android on Wikipedia: and on the official Android website:

Android

Android ist Weltweit erfolgreichstes Betriebssystem für mobile Geräte

Android ist ein Betriebssystem, das Google für mobile Geräte wie Smartphones und Tablets entwickelt hat und ständig weiterentwickelt. Es funktioniert mit Touch-Funktion und ist heute mit großem Abstand das weltweit meistverwendete Betriebssystem für diese mobilen Geräte. Zwar wird es überwiegend auf Smartphones genutzt, es existieren aber auch stationäre Anwendungen.

Mittlerweile ist Android globaler Marktführer und steht außer Konkurrenz. In Deutschland verfügen mehr als 80 Prozent aller neu gekauften Mobilgeräte über ein Android-System, das schon vorinstalliert ist. Nur in den USA kommt das iPhone-System iOS noch auf vergleichbare Marktanteile. Alle anderen Systeme wie Windows Phone oder Blackberry liegen weit dahinter unter „ferner liefen“.

Hersteller haben freien Zugriff auf Android-Quellcode

Einer der Gründe für den wachsenden Erfolg von Android als Betriebssystem: Jeder darf den Android-Quellcode frei nutzen. Die Hersteller von Smartphones und Tablets müssen keine Lizenzgebühren an Google zahlen und können das Android perfekt an die Hardware ihrer Geräte anpassen. Handys von Samsung, Sony, HTC, Motorola, LG und weitern Produzenten laufen zum größten Teil mit dem Android-Betriebssystem. Das führt zu einer großen Modell- und Preisvielfalt. Android-Smartphones gibt es mittlerweile in unterschiedlichen Preisklassen und Größen. Diese Freiheit der Quellcode-Nutzung ist auch das wichtigste Unterscheidungsmerkmal Androids zu iOS von Apple.

Android verfügt über eine große Vielfalt von Apps: Die Palette reicht von simplen Ratespielchen über Gesundheits-Apps, Terminkalendern bis hin zu Tourenplanern. Viele dieser Apps sind auf Smartphones optimiert, einige laufen perfekt auf Tablets. Manche Apps sind gratis, einige für wenige Euro verfügbar.

Weitere Informationen zu Android finden Sie auf der Wikipedia Enzyklopädie https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Android_%28Betriebssystem%29 und auf der offiziellen Android-Website http://www.android.com/