Drupal is a content management system for communities

Drupal is a content management system, which is a system that lets you create and manage websites. Drupal is an open source software, which means Drupal is free and is being constantly improved and further developed by an active community of developers. The system is based on the software components Apache, PHP and MySQL. All three components are also open source products and can be used for free for this reason.

Drupal gives large websites more flexibility

Drupal is great for websites which require finely scalable user management, such as portals, community websites and corporate websites that are maintained by a larger group of people. Drupal also has another further advantage: in the Drupal standard system typical user activity functions such as forums, blogs, comment functions, surveys and creating user profiles are already included. In Drupal content is not only managed and represented in the traditional, hierarchical structure, but content can also be classified into multiple categories at the same time, and represented in the front end in various areas of the site. Content can be linked to terms, which allows for flexible representation of content in the front end. In addition, it is also possible to establish a keyword-based menu navigation.

Especially for large websites, this keyword-based categorisation of content will offer much more flexibility. Content does not need to be mapped into a fixed structure, but can be ordered through simultaneous tagging in multiple categories, without duplicating the content itself.

At the moment, there are currently more than a thousand Drupal themes to choose from, which means that graphically challenging websites can be quickly and flexibly created.

You can find more information on Drupal on Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drupal and on Drupal’s website: https://www.drupal.org/

Drupal

Drupal ist ein Content Management System für Communities

Drupal ist ein Content Management System, also eine Software, mit der sich Websites erstellen und verwalten lassen. Drupal ist eine Open Source Software. Das bedeutet: Drupal ist kostenlos und wird durch eine aktive Community von Entwicklern ständig verbessert und weiterentwickelt. Das System basiert auf den Software-Komponenten Apache, PHP und MySQL. Alle drei Komponenten sind ebenfalls Open Source-Produkte und dürfen deshalb kostenlos eingesetzt werden.

Drupal verschafft großen Websites mehr Flexibilität

Drupal eignet sich hervorragend für Websites, auf denen eine fein skalierbare Benutzerverwaltung erforderlich ist, wie beispielsweise Portale, Community-Websites und Unternehmens-Websites, die von einem größeren Personenkreis gepflegt werden. Drupal hat noch einen weiteren Vorteil: Im Drupal-Standardsystem sind gängige Funktionen der Nutzer-Aktivität schon enthalten, wie ein Forum, Blogs, Kommentarfunktionen, Umfragen und das Anlegen von User-Profilen. In Drupal können die Inhalte nicht nur in der klassischen, hierarchischen Struktur verwaltet und dargestellt werden, sondern es lassen sich Inhalte gleichzeitig in mehrere Kategorien einordnen und im Frontend in den verschiedenen Bereichen der Website darstellen. Inhalte können mit Begriffen verknüpft werden, was eine flexible Darstellung der Inhalte im Frontend ermöglich. Außerdem ist der Aufbau einer schlagwortbasierten Menüführung möglich.

Besonders auf großen Websites bietet die schlagwortbasierte Kategorisierung der Inhalte deutlich mehr Flexibilität. Inhalte müssen nicht mehr in eine feste Struktur eingeordnet werden, sondern lassen sich durch das Tagging gleichzeitig mehreren Kategorien zuordnen, ohne die Inhalte selbst zu duplizieren.

Derzeit stehen mehr als Tausend Drupal-Themes zur Auswahl, grafisch anspruchsvolle Websites können damit flexibel und schnell erstellt werden.

Weitere Informationen zu Drupal gibt es auf der Wikipedia Enzyklopädie https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drupal  und bei Drupal https://www.drupal.org/