Delphi

Delphi is a programming language for Windows

Delphi – its full name is Embarcadero Delphi – is a development system to create Windows programs. The first version of Delphi was released in 1994. You can realise professional database, GUI, service and web services applications for Windows with Delphi. With Delphi, Embarcadero Technologies provides the only development environment in which it is possible to create modern native applications which are compatible with Windows XP, Windows Vista, and Windows 7 and 8.

Delphi even supports the development of applications in the new Windows 8 Metro style, including touchscreen function and live tile support and table sensor components which are able to be run on Windows 8 desktops, x86 interfaces and Slate tablet PCs – and which can also run on the older Windows versions XP to Windows 8.

Delphi’s name come from the ancient Greeks

The name Delphi come from Greek mythology: Delphi was a famous oracle. Oracle is the name of a famous database system – and the development environment Delphi is very database-heavy. Because Delphi is the name of the most famous oracle, the developers at Borland, the predecessor of Embarcadero Technologies, decided to use this name.

You can find more information on Delphi on Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delphi_(programming_language)

Delphi

Delphi ist eine Programmiersprache für Windows

Delphi – eigentlich Embarcadero Delphi – ist ein Entwicklungssystem zum Erstellen von Windowsprogrammen. Die erste Version von Delphi stammt aus dem Jahr 1994. Mit Delphi kann man professionelle Datenbank-, GUI-, Dienst- und Web-Services-Anwendungen für Windows realisieren. Embarcadero Technologies stellt mit der Delphi-Technologie die derzeit einzige Entwicklungsumgebung bereit, die es ermöglicht, moderne, native Anwendungen zu erstellen, die kompatibel zu Windows XP, Windows Vista, sowie Windows 7 und 8 sind.

Sogar die Entwicklung von Anwendungen im neuen Windows 8 Metro-Stil, einschließlich Touchscreen-Funktion und Live-Kachelunterstützung sowie Tablet-Sensorkomponenten, die auf Windows 8-Desktops, x86-Oberflächen und Slate Tablet PCs ausführbar sind – und auch unter den älteren Windows-Versionen XP bis Windows 8 laufen – wird von Delphi unterstützt.

Delphi hat seinen Namen aus der griechischen Antike

Der Name Delphi stammt übrigens aus der griechischen Mythologie, genauer: Namensgeber ist das berühmte Orakel von Delphi. Oracle (Orakel) ist der Name eines bekannten Datenbanksystems – und die Entwicklungsumgebung von Delphi ist stark datenbanklastig. Da Delphi der Name des bekanntesten Orakels ist, haben die Entwickler von Borland, dem Vorgängerunternehmen von Embarcadero Technologies, sich für diesen Namen entschieden.

Weitere Informationen zur Programmiersprache Delphi finden Sie auf der Website der Wikipedia Enzyklopädie https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Embarcadero_Delphi