Content Management System

A content management system manages content on the internet

Content management system can be shortened to CMS. A content management system manages content – often on the internet and in connection with a web site. The term CMS and content management system can now even be found in other languages around the world such as German. There are many content management systems nowadays that are either available for free as open source software, or commercially as software. WordPress, Joomla, OpenCMS, Drupal and Typo3 are some of the most widespread. This is not only due to the quality of these content management systems, but also the number of installations and therefore their development stage.

Some content management systems are used all over the world

A content management system can be used to manage content from a website in a simple way. Texts and images are meant when we refer to content, but site navigation can also be administered with a content management system. A content management system that manages content from websites is also called a web content management system. Using a content management system on a website requires a bit more effort during installation, but it offers many advantages: on the one hand, the design of the site is managed separately from the layout, design and content. This means that when you use a content management system you will not need to worry about the layout when working on the content, and vice versa. So with just a few clicks in the content management system the entire layout can be changed for the website.

On the other hand, this separation of layout and content makes it possible for different users to access the content of the content management system. The content of a website is often stored on a database in a content management system, such as MySQL. Templates are used for the design of a content management system website, which consist of HTML and placeholders. The placeholder is then automatically replaced by content when looking at the website of the content management system.

You can find more information on content management systems on Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Content_management_system

Content Management System

Ein Content Management System verwaltet Inhalte im Internet

Für den englischen Begriff Content Management System steht auch das Kürzel CMS. Wörtlich lässt sich Content Management System mit Inhalts-Verwaltungs-System übersetzen. Ein Content Management System verwaltet also Inhalt – häufig im Internet und im Zusammenhang mit einer Website. Die Begriffe CMS und Content Management System haben sich mittlerweile auch im deutschen Wortgebrauch durchgesetzt. Es gibt heute zahlreiche Content Management Systeme, die entweder kostenlos als Open Source Software zur gratis-Nutzung zur Verfügung stehen oder kommerziell als Software erworben werden können. Wirklich große Verbreitung haben WordPress, Joomla, OpenCMS, Drupal und Typo3. Das hat mit der Qualität dieser Content Management Systeme zu tun, aber auch mit der Anzahl der Installationen und damit dem Stand ihrer Entwicklung.

Einige Content Management Systeme sind weltweit verbreitet

Ein Content Management System kann man beispielsweise einsetzen, um Inhalte von einer Website auf einfache Weise zu verwalten. Mit Inhalten sind Texte und Bilder gemeint, aber auch die Navigation einer Website kann mit einem Content Management System administriert werden. Ein Content Management System, das Inhalte von Websites verwaltet, wird auch Web Content Management System genannt. Der Einsatz eines Content Management System auf einer Website verlangt zwar etwas mehr Installationsaufwand, bietet aber viele Vorteile: Einerseits werden die Gestaltung der Website in Bezug auf Layout und Design und die Inhalte getrennt verwaltet. Dadurch muss man sich beim Einsatz eines Content Management Systems nicht bei Inhalten um das Layout kümmern und umgekehrt. So kann mit wenigen Klicks im Content Management System das Layout der kompletten Webseite geändert werden.

Andererseits ist es durch die Trennung von Layout und Inhalt möglich, dass verschiedene Benutzer auf die Inhalte von Content Management Systemen Zugriff erhalten. Die Inhalte einer Website werden bei einem Content Management System meist in einer Datenbank – beispielsweise MySQL – gespeichert. Für die Gestaltung einer Content Management System-Website werden so genannte Templates, also Formatvorlagen verwendet, die aus HTML und Platzhaltern bestehen. Die Platzhalter werden dann beim Betrachten der Website vom Content Management System automatisch durch Inhalte ersetzt.

Weitere Informationen zum Thema Content Management System finden Sie auf der Website der Wikipedia Enzyklopädie https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Content-Management-System